Ipsy Bag August 2015 Review!

Hey guys!

Soooo it’s been over two weeks since I last posted, oopsies! I’ve just been preparing for when classes start again and trying to enjoy the last few moments of summer, so I’ve been a little bit too busy to post. My bad! But, luckily, here I am once again, for your reading pleasure.

This week, I have an Ipsy Bag review. Now, going into it I had high hopes, especially since my last Ipsy bag was totally amazing. But, unfortunately, this month was a total dud. Usually when I get a dud bag, there’s at least one product that I’m like ‘okay, I really like this’ about, but this month there wasn’t a single thing I could see myself actually using frequently enough to keep in my collection. Let’s take a look, shall we?

For those who don’t know, Ipsy is a subscription bag service that is only $10 a month. Every month, you get a themed bag that contains 5 makeup or beauty products. Sometimes they are small sample sizes, deluxe sample sizes, or even full sized things! I believe it is way worth the $10 (most months, at least). You can sign up using this link here, if you would like. This month’s theme was prep school.

all 1

Here is this month’s bag and contents. The bag itself is cute, though it feels a bit plastic-like. I also hate when the bags don’t unzip from the top and instead are a little bit partway down, thus making the bag smaller, but meh. Beggars can’t be choosers and all that, right?

Anyways, the products that I got in this month’s bag are:

-La Fresh Group Good Night, Night Cream

-Skone Cosmetics Luxe Double Eye/Lip pencil in Wine

-‘Pencil Me In’ Cosmetics Eyeliner in Boysenberry

-Hikari Cosmetics Lip Gloss in Salsa

-Marc Anthony Argan Oil of Morocco Oil Treatment

Let’s look at the products individually now!


-La Fresh Group Good Night, Night Cream

face 1

I was so disappointed when I saw this in my bag. While I do think this is a decent sized sample, and the squeezy packet with a cap at the top is very convenient, I have already received something from La Fresh Group a few Ipsy bags ago and could not stand to use it. I believe it was something like ‘Hello Day Day Moisturizer’ or something, and it felt like a typical, decent moisturizer. But the smell was just so bad that I couldn’t stand to have it on my face. I was hoping this smell would be different, but alas, it is not. It smells almost like a rotting cucumber with a bit of a weird spice thrown in. I really don’t like it, so I know I won’t be using this one either.

face 2

The consistency is thin, as seen above, and I hardly feel a difference from the day moisturizer from them I already have. But, looks like I’m tossing both out now anyways. This product might work for you if the smell doesn’t bother you, but for me it was too much. Estimated value: $13.33


-Skone Cosmetics Double Eye/Lip Pencil in Wine

lip 1

lip 2

lip 3

This product is a weird concept to me. I would never put something that has been touching my lips/mouth on my eyes/waterline, or vice versa. So I don’t like the concept of it being a ‘double’ product. Not only that, but I think that this color would look extremely strange as a liner. I mean if you want to wear that then that’s fine for you, but for me personally such a pinkish color would just look like I was diseased or had some weird plum-pink pinkeye strand. Not attractive haha. I think this would maybe work with people with not as light complexions as mine, since it wouldn’t just look sickly on them. As a lip liner, this product feels almost too slippery to actually stay without having to worry about it gliding off or smearing onto your chin or cheek. I’m also not a huge lip liner person, as I have told Ipsy repeatedly, so even if this does work well for a lip liner, it won’t be used by me personally much. Estimated value: $8


-Pencil Me In Cosmetics Eyeliner in Boysenberry 

eye 1

eye 2

eye 3

Another product that just isn’t usable to me, personally. I have this strong dislike of blue eyeliners for some reason. I don’t think it’s flattering on me; it may look great on you, but I don’t believe that I could pull it off. At all. This pencil does feel pretty creamy, so that’s good, but I won’t get much use out of it. I’m considering passing it along to my mom since she wears this shade of eyeliner frequently, but as for me this is a dud (again, I’ve told Ipsy time and time again I’m not a big eye liner person either, especially blue eyeliner, but this is the third blue eyeliner I’ve gotten thus far.) Estimated value: $6.99


-Hikari Lip Gloss in Salsa

gloss 1

gloss 2

gloss 3

gloss 4

I know that this sounds like I’m being really whiny, but this product, again, is one that I won’t be using personally. I am not a huge gloss person, but can use them if I think they’re the right shade for me. Unfortunately, bright orangy red is not my shade. I do think it’s pretty, and I’ll keep it around just in case I ever need it, but it won’t be used as frequently as a more nude or a plum shade would be for me. The formula is a bit on the thin side, which I do actually like since it’s not too sticky and goopy on the lips, but still just sticky enough. I’m really sorry if it just seems like I’m being picky! I’m just being honest as to what I would/wouldn’t use. Value: $13


-Marc Anthony Argan Oil of Morocco Oil Hair Treatment

hair 1

This sample bottle looks rather big, but it was only filled about halfway (if that) and therefore isn’t that much product. Although I do like hair treatments, I didn’t think this one did much for me. It made my hair softer for an hour after use, but didn’t seem to stick around much or actually improve my hair in any sort of way as it claims. It’s not terrible, but it’s not an amazing hair product (like my La Playa Sea Salt Spray from my last ipsy bag). It’s my favorite product from the bag this month, but not enough to be considered it’s saving grace. Estimated value: $1.5


Overall, I don’t think this bag was that amazing. Again, these are all my personal opinions so hey, maybe you got the same contents and were ecstatic. I’m just giving my own stand on these products. My bag’s total is about $43, which I obviously can’t complain about since I only paid $10 for it. The products themselves weren’t all terrible, just not things that I was feeling myself. Oh well, here’s hoping next months will be better!

Thanks for reading! I hope you have a great day/night/life!

Leave a Reply

